Maintain a data model

You can modify, copy, delete and lock or unlock a data model.

Modify a data model

Procedure
  1. Navigate to System data > Data models.
    The Data models page displays the models available within your working category.
  2. Select the data model to modify.

    The data model opens in a new browser tab.

  3. Make changes as needed.
  4. Save or release the data model.

Copy a data model

Procedure
  1. Navigate to System data > Data models.
    The Data models page displays the models available within your working category.
  2. On the context menu for the data model to copy, select Copy.
    A copy of the data model prefixed with "Copy 1 of" to the <Data model name> appears on the Data models page.
  3. Make changes, such as renaming the data model.
  4. Select Save.

Unlock a data model

Whenever a data model is released, it is locked by default, preventing other resources from modifying it. You can unlock a data model to allow modification.

Procedure
  1. Navigate to System data > Data models.
    The Data models page displays the models available within your working category.
  2. Locate the data model to unlock.
  3. On the context menu of the data model to unlock, select Unlock.

    On confirmation, the data model is unlocked.

    You can lock a data model again. When you open an unlocked data model, a message appears to confirm whether to lock the data model for modification. Once you confirm locking, the data model is locked.

Delete a data model

You can delete data models only if a process, business rule, or custom service is not using them.

Procedure
  1. Navigate to System data > Data models.
    The Data models page appears wth the list of data models.
  2. On the context menu of the data model to delete, select Delete.

    On confirmation, the selected version and all the lower versions of the data model are deleted.

Delete a version of a data model

You can delete a specific version of the data model so that you can then delete items referenced by the previous versions.

When you delete a data model version, the selected version and all earlier versions are deleted.

Procedure
  1. Navigate to System data > Data models.

    The Data models page appears with the list of data models.

  2. On the context menu for the data model to open the versions list for, select Versions.
  3. On the context menu of the version to delete, select Delete.

    On confirmation, the selected version and all previous versions are deleted.

View data model associations

You can view the list of processes, business rules, cases, and custom services that use the current data model.

Procedure
  1. Navigate to System data > Data models.

    The Data models page appears with the list of data models.

  2. Open the data model for which to view the associations.

    The data model opens in the Design view, in a new browser tab.

  3. On the modeling bar, select the File tab and then select Associations.
    By default, the processes using this data model are displayed.
  4. On the View associations by type list, select any of the following options as needed:
    • Process: Processes, cases, and custom services using this data model are displayed. You can select the process/case/custom service name link to open the item in a new browser tab and make changes, as needed.

    • Business Rule: Business rules using this data model are displayed. You can select the business rule name link to open the rule in a new browser tab and make changes, as needed.