Archive finished job
When a job is completed, either through natural completion or termination, you can archive all related job details from the live tables to the finished tables to improve system performance.
Finished jobs can be archived only when the Archive mode is Manual. For more information, see "Archive mode" in Database settings.
If the archiving process fails for any reason, you can:
-
View an "Archive job failed" entry in the TotalAgility Workspace audit log.
-
Review the error details in the event log.
If the jobs are not archived successfully, select "Archive finished jobs" again.
As a best practice, move finished jobs to separate tables and maintain them in a separate database to help manage the database size.
The "Archive finished jobs" setting is selected by default. As a result, once a job is complete, the "Archive jobs" system task moves the job to the archive table. This helps keep the live jobs tables small and prevent them from continuously growing.
We recommend archiving finished jobs or purging them after completion, either immediately or on a scheduled basis.
Clear recording history
If you do not require the history of some jobs, clear the "Record history" setting in the process (Process properties > History, reporting, and execution tab).
Clear on archive
When a job is archived, the values of variables configured with the "Clear on archive" property are cleared to reduce database size. This applies to the following variable types:
| Variable type | How the variable is set |
|---|---|
| String | The variable is set to an empty string. |
| Nullable string | The variable is set to Null. |
| Data object | The variable is set to Null. |
| Dynamic complex | Variable rows are deleted, while the structure (column types) is retained. |
For more information on configuring the "Clear on archive" property, see: